Our Vision

Prosperous People Through Excellent Governance

Our Mission

Our mission is to provide better services to the people under the purview of Ipalogama Divisional Secretariat through general administration sustainable development and well planned method utilising the available and receivable resources with Austeripy together with better coordination of government and nongovernmental Organizations by Providing Services to public in conformity with Government policy.

Ipalogama Divisional Secretariat

Ipalogama Divisional Secretariat can be decried as a serenity area consists of the greatest irrigation technology in ancient heritage as well as remarkable places such as the olden Vijithapura temple . The unique giant irrigation technology of Kalawewa tank . The initials colonies of Sri Lanka such as Senapura and other villages still can be seen in the division. Ipalogama Divisional Secretariat division has become to home for Sinhalese , Tamils and Muslim communities. The total population is 42812 at present .

The location of the division

There are 22 divisional secretariat divisions in Anuradhapura district . Ipalogama divisional secretariat division is located in the midlist of Thalawa , Thirappane , Kekirawa , Palagala and Galnewa divisions . This division as located 124-130 miters height from the sea level and annual temperature is around 80 Fahrenheit degrees . Annual rain fall is around 60-80 inches. Ipalogama divisional Secretariat is situated on Anuradhapura – Kandy road and 50 km away form Anuradhapura city as well as 11 km away from Kekirawa town.  

The Spread of the Land

In this division 113 villages are comprised under 32 Grama Niladhari divisions . The total land area is 134 km² and the total distance of roads within Ipalogama sivision is 1622 km . There are 37 km belongs to the Provincial Council . The largest Grama Niladhari division is Kunchikulama with 18.67 km² and the smallest Grama Niladhari division is Kalawewa with 1.08 km² .

Water Resources


Water is the most valuable resource in the division specially under the division belongs to the dry zone . This division was developed based on the agriculture has water system which refects ancient heritage under the greatest creation of matured irrigation technology of Kalawewa tank which was built by king Dhathusena who was built many tanks in addition to this great work. Yodha Ela ( 54 km long canal )  is following through the division and Jaya Ganga ( another irrigation    canal ) which was developed parallel to the Yodha ela , is a key source of water to the farmers of the division . The best creation of kalawewa tank is linked to 74 sub tanks system which are supplying water all around the divisions in Anuradhapura district . In addition to that yodha ela ( the canal ) supplies water to Thisawewa 54 km away from kalawewa tank which is in Anuradhapura city .

Bio Diversity of the Division

According the classification of agriculture , this land belongs to dry zone and comprises of some forests with valuable inbreeding trees various kinds of rare plants as well as birds and animals , to protect the bio diversity of  the division , Mahailuppallama agriculture research institute and agricultural faculty of Peradeniya University provides knowledge and assistance to the division and it’s farmers .

The Population

Total population at present is around 42812 and the majority of 35474 are Sinhalese , 7002 Muslims and 115 Tamils share the division . According to religious based Buddhist are leading the front . Kunchikulama has the highest population and Amanakkattuwa is the lowest population Grama Niladhari division .


Agriculture is the main and common reputation of the divisions as entire Rajarata forming lands are watered by 74 tanks with Mahaweli irrigation project and rain water . Paddy is the main agricultural products in the division as well as it is the staple food in the country , in the addition to that other crops and essential cultivations can be seen from the Ipalogama Division .


Role performed at DS

Name From To
Mr. Ranjith Darmasena 1991 1994
Mr. U.D. Yapa 1994 1996
Mr. Sarath Wijesinghe 1996 2000
Mr. A.M.K.B. Adikari 2001 2005
Mr. K.B. Hettiarachchi 2005 2007
Mr. H.M.P. Bandara 2007  
Mr. R.P Sathkumara 2007 2011
Mrs. M.S.S. Sajidha Banu


Mrs. E.A.S. Edirisinghe 2018.05.15  2018.10.31

News & Events

සෞභාග්‍යා සතිය - 2021

සෞභාග්‍යා සතිය - 2021

"දිරියපිය" වැඩසටහනට සමගාමීව නිවසක් විවෘත කිරීම.- 2021.07.01  ...


ජංගම වෙළඳුන් පිළිබඳ තොරතුරු

 " කොරෝනා වසංගතය නිසා පනවා ඇති සංචරණය...

Scroll To Top